College Life Expectation vs Reality: My 4th Month in College

It is almost three months since I started college. When I was still a high schooler, a lot of people said that college life is really different than high school in a way that it is more challenging and stressful than high school. They said high school’s stress is nothing compared to college’s. They said there will be a lot of nights when you cannot get even a wink of sleep and coffee is gonna be your best-est friend. The professors, they said, are not gonna be concerned about you at all. They made college sound like a warrior training facility with killer instructors. I was really anxious of what college would be like then. But for me so far, college hasn’t been as people described. All the times when most of my seniors said college is hard and different from high school was a total bulls-hit for me. Meh.

In this three months I can still get at least 4 hours of sleep–not an all-nighter, I would say, and it rarely happens. The professors have been very understanding and concerned of their students. The amount of tasks are almost always enormous but I feel like getting tasks done in college is less a torture than in high school, so I can get tasks done on time. In high school, there were a lot of subjects I really hate because of how unrelated they were to the major I was applying for. I think studying and finishing homeworks are now more bearable because I like what I am doing. Every subjects are closely related to one another, and understanding one particular subject can actually help you with another subject. When I study biology, I get just how reliant the processes inside the body on chemical reactions, I finally understand where the chemistry equations come from from mathematics, from physics I finally get how and why matters can change shapes. Everything is connected.

I think the reason why a lot of people tend to dramatize the harshness of college life is because they just want to appear stronger and more superior than their juniors. Every time some high schoolers rant on social media of how exhausted they were because of school, a lot of college students would bombard them with comments like ‘high school is nothing’, ‘you are damn weak. just wait until you enter college, you’d literally die’, ‘damn these crybaby high schoolers nowadays’, etc etc. I think it is just in our human genes to want to appear superior compared to others or to feel like our generation is far more superior and better than the younger generation. Just like how the elders always says ‘this generation is so blah blah blah’, this way of thinking translates to befouling people in just any way, including calling others weaker, making light of other people’s suffering, play the-more-tortured-one game, etc etc.

I think this phenomena sucks. I hope people will stop this whole generation and superiority war because it’s like a coin, it’s point-less (play on words intended). Telling the truth without dramatizing is the best way we can help our juniors imagine what college would be like. Though I cannot say much now because I am still a freshman in college so I might be wrong. But I hope I am not wrong so I don’t have to delete this post in the future.

Adios.

Leave a Reply

